Product details

om310
Albert Louis Frédéric Baptiste (1700-1775)
Concerto à 4 e-Moll
for flauto traverso, two violin and basso continuo
Edited by Antje Becker und Ondrej Bernovský
om310
979-0-502341-30-2
score (softcover, X + 22 pages) and parts
incl. VAT plus shipping costs 22,50 EUR

Albert Louis Frédéric Ba(p)tiste was born in Oettingen around 21 July 1700. His father, Johann, came from France and had worked as a dancer and violinist at the Opéra de Paris. According to tradition, the Protestant left his homeland in 1685 as a result of the Edict of Nantes, which was repealed by Louis XIV, in order to make a living abroad. Oettingen offered him a place to work, at least for a while. [...] Soon after the birth of Albert Louis Frédéric, the family moved to Darmstadt, [...] where Landgrave Ernst Ludwig of Hesse-Darmstadt (1667-1739) reigned, who himself played the lute and was in the process of building up one of the most renowned court chapels of the 18th century in the German-speaking world. Albert Louis Frédéric grew up in this artistically inspiring environment of his father, who taught him to dance and probably also to play the violin. In 1718 he embarked on a journey through Europe lasting several years: to France, Italy and England, but also to Spain, Denmark and Sweden. [...] In 1726 he returned to his homeland and took up a post as court musician and dancer in Kassel. [...] Twenty to thirty instrumentalists and singers provided musical entertainment at court, including Johann Adam Birkenstock, Fortunato Chelleri, and later Christian Samuel Barth and the opera composer Ignazio Fiorillo. Baptiste was apparently satisfied with his employment and the artistic environment of his work; he remained in Kassel until his death in 1775.

Like most of his colleagues, Albert Louis Frédéric Baptiste was not only active as a musician and dancer, but also as a composer. [...] Mention is made of solo sonatas for flute and violin, but also of more exotic instrumentation such as three sonatas for violin, cornetto, viola da gamba and basso continuo or 24 minuets for two violins, two horns and bass. E. L. Gerber also knows dozens of gamba works from Baptiste's pen. Only a few of these have survived.

Stylistically, Baptiste orientates himself in the present work above all on the contemporary compositional practice of Italy. This can be seen in the structure of the work with the movements Afectuoso, Allegro, Largo and Allegro as well as in the "melodic spirit", or: the idea of cantabilità, which characterises the shaping of the solo voice, especially in the slow movements. [...] The background to the composition of the work is obscure. A small 'bonus' may be the fact that Johann (es) Scherer (1696-1760), a member of the famous Scherer family of instrument makers in Butzbach and himself a composer for his instrument, was active as a wind player (oboe and flute) in the Kassel court orchestra from 1722. It is quite possible that the colleagues worked together here. In view of the technically demanding figures of the Concerto, this would be an indication of the virtuosity of this flutist, about whom little else is known, as an instrumentalist.


By the preface from Antje Becker und Ondrej Bernovský

Go back

Produktdetails

om310
Albert Louis Frédéric Baptiste (1700-1775)
Concerto à 4 e-Moll
für Flauto traverso, zwei Violinen und Basso continuo
Herausgegeben von Antje Becker und Ondrej Bernovský

.

om310
979-0-502341-30-2
Partitur und Stimmen (Partitur: Broschur X + 22 Seiten)
inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten 22,50 EUR

Albert Louis Frédéric Ba(p)tiste wurde um den 21. Juli 1700 in Oettingen geboren. Sein Vater, Johann, stammte aus Frankreich und hatte als Tänzer und Geiger an der Opéra de Paris gewirkt. Der Protestant verließ der Überlieferung nach infolge des von Louis XIV. aufgehobenen Edikts von Nantes 1685 sein Heimatland, um im Ausland sein Auskommen zu finden. Oettingen bot ihm zumindest eine Zeitlang eine Wirkungsstätte. [...] Bald nach der Geburt von Albert Louis Frédéric zog die Familie nach Darmstadt, [...] wo Landgraf Ernst Ludwig von Hessen-Darmstadt (1667–1739) regierte, der selbst die Laute spielte und im Begriff war, eine der renommiertesten Hofkapellen des 18. Jahrhunderts im deutschsprachigen Raum aufzubauen. In diesem künstlerisch inspirierenden Wirkungsumfeld seines Vaters, der ihn das Tanzen und vermutlich auch das Geigenspiel lehrte, wuchs Albert Louis Frédéric auf. 1718 begab er sich auf eine mehrjährige Reise durch Europa: Nach Frankreich, Italien und England, aber auch nach Spanien, Dänemark und Schweden. [...] 1726 kehrte er in seine Heimat zurück und trat in Kassel eine Stelle als Hofmusiker und -tänzer an. [...] Zwanzig bis dreißig Instrumentalisten und Sänger sorgten bei Hofe für musikalische Unterhaltung, darunter Johann Adam Birkenstock, Fortunato Chelleri, später auch Christian Samuel Barth und der Opernkomponist Ignazio Fiorillo.
Baptiste war mit seiner Anstellung und dem künstlerischen Umfeld seiner Arbeit offenbar zufrieden; er blieb in Kassel bis zu seinem Tod im Jahre 1775.

Wie die meisten seiner Kollegen war Albert Louis Frédéric Baptiste nicht nur als Musiker und Tänzer, sondern auch als Komponist tätig. [...] erwähnt werden Solosonaten für Flöte und für Violine, aber auch hinsichtlich der Besetzung Exotischeres wie drei Sonaten für Violine, Cornetto, Viola da gamba und Basso continuo oder 24 Menuette für zwei Violinen, zwei Hörner und Bass. E. L. Gerber kennt außerdem Dutzende Gambenwerke aus der Feder von Baptiste. Überliefert ist von all dem nur Weniges.

Stilistisch orientiert Baptiste sich im vorliegenden Werk vor allem an der zeitgenössischen Kompositionspraxis Italiens. Dies zeigt sich in der Anlage des Werkes mit den Sätzen Afectuoso, Allegro, Largo und Allegro wie auch im „melodischen Geist“, oder: der Idee von der cantabilità, die insbesondere in den langsamen Sätzen die Gestaltung der Solostimme prägt. [...] Die Hintergründe zur Entstehung des Werkes liegen im Dunkel. Als kleines ,Bonbon‘ mag die Tatsache fungieren, dass als Bläser (Oboe wie Flöte) der Kasseler Hofkapelle ab 1722 ein Johann(es) Scherer (1696–1760) wirkte: Mitglied der berühmten Instrumentenbauerfamilie Scherer in Butzbach und selbst Komponist für sein Instrument. Gut möglich, dass die Kollegen hier zusammenarbeiteten. Mit Blick auf die technisch anspruchsvollen Figuren des Concerto stünde damit ein Indiz für die Virtuosität dieses Flötisten, über den sonst kaum etwas bekannt ist, als Instrumentalist bereit.

 

Aus dem Vorwort von Antje Becker und Ondrej Bernovský

 

Zurück